informer sidebar clear
About Us
Across Georgia
Black History
Herbert Dennard Show
Book Review
Influential People
Movie Review
Music Review
Social Issues
Special Pages
Berdine Dennard Berdine's Corner
informer logo
Kenney Dennard Publisher

Dennard Wins School Board Seat in Twiggs County

LaCharn Cobb Dennard the daughter of the late Josephine Bowman Cobb and Oscar T. Cobb of Jeffersonville, was recently elected to the Twiggs County School Board District 3. She was born and raised in Twiggs County. She is a 1986 graduate of the Twiggs County Public Schools. Earned a B.S. degree from Savannah State University. After leaving Savannah, she moved to Atlanta, Georgia to pursue a Master's Degree in Public Administration at Georgia State University. And most recently in 2005, she earned a Master's Degree in Social Work from Savannah State University. In 1996, she relocated back to Twiggs and married Earl D. Dennard, Sr. They have two sons Earl Jr, age 10 and Dylan, age 8. Both boys are proud students at Jeffersonville Elementary. She is an active member of D.D. Memorial Baptist Church in Dry Branch.Dennard has been employed in Child Welfare for the last 14 years and is currently the Director of the Monroe County Department of Family and Children Services in Forsyth, Georgia. In this capacity, she serves on many collaborative boards in the community and work closely with the school system in Monroe. She is committed to ensuring that the "Children are First" and that they receive a quality education that will afford them an opportunity to be productive citizens. School systems in small communities are the "heartbeat and pride of the community" and she is committed to restoring that tradition. As a of result of recent state budget cuts, the Board must ensure that our leadership will make fiscally sound decisions that will not compromise our children's education and their futures. Dennard will provide proven leadership and professionalism. She promised to represent District 3 in a manner in which Twiggs County citizens can be proud of. The election was held July 20, 2010.
bj walker
LaCharn Cobb Dennard