Front Page

In the News

Across Georgia
Business News
Church News
Educational News
Election 2006
Entertainment News

Health & Medical News


Special Features

Black History

City of Macon's Highest Paid Employees

Influential People

Letter From The Publisher

Lottery News & Statistics

Social Issues - Addiction, Domestic Abuse & More



Subscribe to Georgia Informer today!!!


Eighteen Georgia Sheriffs Endorse Justice

Carol Hunstein For Re-Election 


Because of her stellar record of upholding criminal convictions and tough sentences – especially against domestic violence and sex offenders – the Sheriffs of 18 Georgia counties have publicly announced their support for Justice Carol W. Hunstein in her campaign for re-election to the Supreme Court of Georgia.


Georgia Sheriffs who have endorsed Justice Hunstein include:


    • Sheriff John Cary Bittick, Monroe County
    • Sheriff Thomas Brown, DeKalb County
    • Sheriff Richard Chatman, Wilkinson County
    • Sheriff R.L. “Butch” Conway, Gwinnett County
    • Sheriff Myron Freeman, Fulton County
    • Sheriff Victor Hill, Clayton County
    • Sheriff Ralph Johnson, Muscogee County
    • Sheriff Mike Jolley, Harris County
    • Sheriff William C. Massee, Baldwin County
    • Sheriff Darren Mitchum, Twiggs County
    • Sheriff Jerry Modena, Bibb County
    • Sheriff Jamil Saba, Dougherty County
    • Sheriff Thomas Smith, Washington County
    • Sheriff Tyson Stephens, Emanuel County
    • Sheriff Shane Tondee, Schley County
    • Sheriff Neal Walden, White County
    • Sheriff Jeff Watson, Taylor County
    • Sheriff Robbie Wells, Webster County


Previously, 23 Georgia District Attorneys formally endorsed Justice Hunstein in the November 7 General Election:


    • Fredric Bright of Milledgeville, Ocmulgee Judicial Circuit
    • John Gray Conger of Columbus, Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit
    • Cecilia Cooper of Americus , Southwestern Judicial Circuit
    • Daniel Craig, Augusta Judicial Circuit
    • Tom Durden  of Hinesville, Atlantic Judicial Circuit
    • Denise Fachini, Cordele Judicial Circuit
    • Charles Ferguson of Cuthbert, Pataula Judicial Circuit
    • Gwen Keyes Fleming of Decatur, Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit
    • Craig Fraser, Dublin Judicial Circuit
    • Patrick Head of Marietta , Cobb Judicial Circuit
    • Cathy Helms of Nashville , Alapaha Judicial Circuit
    • Ken Hodges of Albany , Dougherty Judicial Circuit
    • Paul Howard, Atlanta Judicial Circuit
    • Stephen Kelley, Brunswick Judicial Circuit
    • Bob Lavender of Elberton, Northern Judicial Circuit
    • Spencer Lawton Jr. of Savannah , Eastern Judicial Circuit
    • Kenneth W. Mauldin of Athens , Western Judicial Circuit
    • Kermit Neal McManus of Dalton , Conasauga Judicial Circuit
    • Penny Penn of Cumming, Bell-Forsyth Judicial Circuit
    • Danny Porter of Lawrenceville, Gwinnett Judicial Circuit
    • Dennis Sanders of Thomson, Toombs Judicial Circuit
    • Jewell Scott of Jonesboro , Clayton Judicial Circuit
    • Pete Skandalakis of Newnan, Coweta Judicial Circuit


Justice Hunstein, who is unaffiliated with any political party, has drawn wide support among both Democrats and Republicans as a result of her experience, fairness, and non-ideological judicial philosophy. Her personal story of struggle and triumph is also an inspiration to all Georgians, regardless of their political affiliation. Carol Hunstein has overcome childhood polio, cancer, loss of a leg, abandonment and divorce, rising from an uneducated single mother in her early 20s to become the second woman to ever serve on our state’s highest court.


Justice Hunstein was appointed to the Georgia Supreme Court by then-Gov. Zell Miller in 1992.  She has been re-elected twice without opposition. 


For more information, visit


You are Visitor #  Hit Counter   Updated Wednesday April 05, 2006 12:40:42



© Copyright 2004 by Georgia Informer, Inc.

P.O. Box 564, Macon, * GA 31201 * Ofc:  (478) 745-7265   *  Email:

Web-Design by